Mortality

It’s been a difficult few days. I wrote this poem a month or two ago but it seems that it’s very appropriate, for me at least, right now.

Talk to your family, friends, loved ones – tell them things and ask them everything you can – once they’re gone it’s all too late.

 

Did nobody warn you I wasn’t immortal?

One day I may fall prey to life’s harsh regime.

No, nobody warned me you were only human

That one day you’d slip into eternal dream

So now, ask me questions, and tell me your deepest

Fears and desires so that we might share

All of the words that will one day fall silent

The day you might waken to find I’m not there.

Leave a Reply

