The History of Geography

cockledick

 

On Thursday, I had the chance to travel to Liverpool on the bus again [see my post A Change of Pace  http://tiny.cc/bx9qly from a few weeks ago]. Once more, although the weather wasn’t as nice this time, I enjoyed looking at the countryside and, again, the oddly-named lanes we passed. Near Southport I saw Cockle Dicks Lane once more, and also Sugar Stubbs Lane, and spent time pondering how these came about. Then, I noticed one I must have overlooked last time – 800px-benkid77_ralph27s_wife27s_lane2c_banks2c_lancashire_120809

‘Surely’, I thought, ‘there must be a story behind this place-name?’, so when I reached home, after several reviving cups of coffee, I  hit Google in search of the answer.

All I could find were some threads on a discussion post, and there seemed to be two main schools of thought on the subject. The first one was that Ralph was a local fisherman who sometimes brought home some illicit booty too. His loyal wife would walk to the end of this lane with a lantern to guide his boat in to the secret unloading point. One night he didn’t make it back, but she stayed there, faithfully waiting, and ultimately froze to death on the marshes.

The other theory is that she was given land on the lane as part of a divorce settlement. Nowhere near as romantic and, as the name of the Lane seems shrouded in history, were there many divorces among ordinary people back then? I think I prefer the first version ❤

As I looked for an image of the name, I came across this page – it seems the Hesketh/Southport area is prone to strangely named lanes.

http://nmfhssouthport.myfreeforum.org/archive/local-street-names__o_t__t_845.html

Knob Hall lane

Now there’s a nice address  😆

Leave a Reply

